Necessary Deception

Necessary Deception

Avg. Rating 5.0
1 Rating


Side Light
Rarity Rare
Version A
Type Mission
Points 3



Card Number
30 / 181

Independent Development Committee
Publish Date

Independent Development Committee

Card Text

Choose a unique Character unit card from your hand and stack it under one of your unique Characters with a different name. (Follow normal stacking rules.) Until that Character is discarded, when the Character battle step ends, put the chosen unit card on the bottom of the unit's stack. If you have another copy or version of the chosen unique unit card in play while the chosen unit is on top of the stack, you may retreat the contested unit card instead of discarding it.

Usage Notes

Treat the new unique unit card as if it is another version of the unit while beneath the stack.

You may bring it to the top during your build step as normal, paying the difference in build cost.

The stack's name changes along with everything else while the new card is on top of the stack.

You can't remove the unit card from the stack. It is considered part of the unit.


Stack: [List]: A layered, static ability that means "You may put a listed card under this unit as part of its stack." The listed cards can't be on top of the stack. Cards with the Stack ability don't count as the cards listed and don't contest with any of the listed cards. If a card is listed by its name you can't stack a card with a different name unless it satisfies a different criteria in the [list] or they represent the same unit. (See the "Different Versions with Different Names" section in the rules PDF) Unlike a normal stack, you can only have one version of each unique unit from the [list] in the stack. Non-unique cards listed on a card with the Stack ability are permitted to form a part of the stack and you can have multiple cards with the same name in the stack as long as they are non-unique. Cards added to a card's stack using the Stack ability cannot exceed the 4 card maximum normal stacking rule. If a unique card with the Stack ability has another version of itself move to the top of it's stack, discard any cards in the stack that can't stack with the new version on top of the stack.