Jarael (B)

Jarael (B)

Avg. Rating 5.0
1 Rating

7
50
4
6


Side Light
Rarity Rare
Version B
Type Character


Expansion

Abbreviation
DAN

Card Number
16 / 160

Author/Publisher
Independent Development Committee
Publish Date
12/31/2017

Independent Development Committee

Card Text

Parry 1

As long as Zayne Carrick is in any arena, Jarael gets Focus 4

Pay 1 Force    Intercept

INSERT: Pay 1 Force    Retaliate 2



Keywords

Focus
Focus X: A cumulative ability triggered by the initial dice roll that means, "When you roll at least one natural five with this unit's attack dice before re-roll, this unit gets +X power for its next attack." Only the first natural "5" counts. A five rolled after re-roll doesn't matter. Focus applies only to dice rolled for an attack, not to dice rolls for abilities like Retaliate. Accuracy can't increase the die roll to a natural "5."
INSERT
INSERT: A layered, static ability that means, "When this card is in play or stacked under the unit, the unit gets the following effect:" Insert works while in the build zone. The effect works while anywhere in the unit's stack. The granted ability remains to be the ability of its type. (For example, activated abilities granted by Insert may be disrupted.) The granted effect may not work in the build zone as per the rule for the rule for that effect.
Intercept
Intercept: A selective ability activated during the attack POP that means, "If one of your other units is being attacked in the same arena, the attacking unit now attacks this unit instead." Intercept doesn't end the attack. Any number of units may intercept an attack once for each instance of the effect. Each intercepting unit has been attacked. Intercept isn’t a prevention ability. Intercept doesn’t cause a new attack. (It is the same attack.) Your unit may intercept an attack from one of your own units (but not from itself) as long as that unit can attack it. If it can't attack the intercepting unit, you can pay its activation, but the defending unit won’t change. "For this attack" effects do not trigger for each intercept. Some effects may end because they don't apply to the new defending unit unless the effect's conditions are met by the new defending unit. An effect that addresses the attack can't be played for each intercept, but could continue.
Parry
Parry X: A cumulative ability triggered during the damage prevention POP that means, "If the attacking unit rolled at least one natural '1' against this unit, prevent X damage to this unit." Only one natural "1" is counted from the attack roll after re-rolls. Parry doesn't prevent damage from a parrying unit unless it attacks itself. Parry can't affect unpreventable damage. If a unit gets the Parry ability after you roll attack dice, it's too late to affect the damage. Accuracy can't decrease the die roll to a natural "1". However, you or your opponent may use an effect to re-roll dice to affect the number of natural ones. (You only count the 1, if any, from the roll used for the attack.) Parry applies only to dice rolled for an attack, not to dice rolls for abilities like Retaliate.
Retaliate
Retaliate X: A layered ability activated during the attack POP that means, "If a unit in the same arena as this unit is attacking this unit, this unit does X dice of damage to that unit when the attack ends." A Retaliate ability without an activation cost has a printed cost of "Pay 0 Force -->". Retaliate resolves when the attack ends, even if your unit gets discarded. Retaliate dice are just dice of damage, not attack dice, and can trigger Stun. Retaliate based on a unit’s power is based on its total power at the time the Retaliate is activated. Retaliate doesn't work with attacks from another arena (such as Bombard and Ion Cannon) or the build zone. A unit may retaliate against itself if it attacks itself. Each Retaliate may be used once per attack. Each defending unit can activate Retaliate during the attack POP, which resolve in their order when the attack ends, even if the retaliating unit is discarded.

Other Versions


Comments