Star Wars: Trading Card Game - The Cantina (SWTCG)


Big Daddy P

Accuracy

Accuracy X/-X: A cumulative, static ability that means, "Add X to each of this unit’s attack dice." and "Subtract X from each of this unit’s attack dice." respectively. Accuracy can’t alter "natural" rolls to affect Critical Hit, Fury, or Parry, but it can affect your chance against Armor. If a unit gets the Accuracy ability after you roll attack dice, it's too late to affect the hits.

Armor

Armor: An isolated, static ability that means, "This unit can only be hit on a roll of 5 or more." Armor works against dice of damage and attack dice. It redefines what die roll is required to hit a unit. It doesn’t modify the die roll like Accuracy. A unit with Accuracy 1 attacking a unit with Armor hits with 4's, 5's, and 6's.

Backfire

Backfire X: A cumulative ability triggered by the initial dice roll that means, "When you roll at least one natural three with this unit's attack dice before re-roll, this unit does X dice of damage to itself when the attack ends." Backfire applies only to dice rolled for an attack, not to dice rolls for abilities like Retaliate.

Bombard

Bombard X: A cumulative, static ability that means, "This unit may attack a unit in the Ground arena instead of the Space arena, using X power plus any other effects." You choose whether to use Bombard to attack a unit in the Ground arena or to make a normal attack in the Space arena. You can't attack a unit in the Space arena using Bombard. Power changes affect Bombard.

Critical Hit

Critical Hit X: A cumulative ability triggered during the pending damage POP that means, "If you rolled at least one natural six with this unit's attack dice, this unit does X more damage for this attack." Only one natural "6" counts in the attack roll after re-rolls. If a unit gets the Critical Hit ability after you roll attack dice, it's too late to affect the damage. Accuracy can't increase the die roll to a natural "6". However, you or your opponent may use an effect to re-roll dice to affect the number of natural sixes. (You only count the six, if any, from the roll used for the attack.) Critical Hit applies only to dice rolled for an attack, not to dice rolls for abilities like Retaliate.

Double Strike

Double Strike: An isolated, static ability played after the attack end POP that means, "You may choose a unit that this unit can attack. This unit attacks that unit. Play only if this unit just attacked and only if it tapped for that attack." The unit must tap for the first attack, not the second. If it untaps, it may double strike again. Double Strike doesn't allow you to attack your own units.

Equip

Equip: A selective effect on Equipment activated during the build step that means, "Attach this Equipment to a unit. Play only during your build step." You can pay the Equip cost only once per turn.

Evade

Evade X: A layered ability activated during the damage prevention POP that means, "Prevent up to X damage to this unit." You can play Evade only once for each instance of damage. You don't have to use all of the Evade. You choose how much damage to Evade up to X, even if the full amount of damage or more is pending.

Ferocity

Ferocity: An isolated, static ability that means, "Damage from this unit can't be prevented." Damage that can't prevented includes all damage coming from the unit with Ferocity, including damage from attacks, Ambush, Deflect, Retaliate, and other abilities. Units with Fortitude override this ability, and can prevent damage to themselves from units with Ferocity.

Fury

Fury X: A cumulative ability triggered by the initial dice roll that means, "When you roll at least one natural four with this unit's attack dice before re-roll, roll X additional attack dice." Only the first natural "4" counts. A four rolled after re-roll doesn't matter. If your unit gets the Fury ability after you roll attack dice, it's too late to roll additional attack dice. Fury applies only to dice rolled for an attack, not to dice rolls for abilities like Retaliate. Accuracy can't increase the die roll to a natural "4."

Intercept

Intercept: A selective ability activated during the attack POP that means, "If one of your other units is being attacked in the same arena, the attacking unit now attacks this unit instead." Intercept doesn't end the attack. Any number of units may intercept an attack once for each instance of the effect. Each intercepting unit has been attacked. Intercept isn’t a prevention ability. Intercept doesn’t cause a new attack. (It is the same attack.) Your unit may intercept an attack from one of your own units (but not from itself) as long as that unit can attack it. If it can't attack the intercepting unit, you can pay its activation, but the defending unit won’t change. "For this attack" effects do not trigger for each intercept. Some effects may end because they don't apply to the new defending unit unless the effect's conditions are met by the new defending unit. An effect that addresses the attack can't be played for each intercept, but could continue.

Meditate

Meditate: An isolated effect activated during a POP chance or your build step that means, "You may play this card from your discard pile without paying the printed cost. Play only during a POP chance or during your build step. When this card would be discarded, remove it from the game instead." Meditate can only be activated when the card is in your discard pile. Paying the Meditate activation cost means you don't pay the normal printed cost of the card.

Overkill

Overkill: An isolated ability triggered during the pending damage POP that means, "When this unit attacks, you may divide hits in excess of the defending unit's remaining health between that unit and another unit in the same arena." The player who controls the attacking unit decides how many hits (if any) in excess of the defending unit's remaining health to reassign as damage to the second unit. (That player can't change their mind afterward.) A number of hits equal to the defending unit's health must be assigned to the defending unit, and the remainder may be assigned to the defending unit or another unit in the same arena. Overkill damage is caused by the ability, not the die roll. Shields, Parry, and Armor have no effect against it, but damage prevention not specifying dice works normally. Both units resolve damage in tandem.

Parry

Parry X: A cumulative ability triggered during the damage prevention POP that means, "If the attacking unit rolled at least one natural '1' against this unit, prevent X damage to this unit." Only one natural "1" is counted from the attack roll after re-rolls. Parry doesn't prevent damage from a parrying unit unless it attacks itself. Parry can't affect unpreventable damage. If a unit gets the Parry ability after you roll attack dice, it's too late to affect the damage. Accuracy can't decrease the die roll to a natural "1". However, you or your opponent may use an effect to re-roll dice to affect the number of natural ones. (You only count the 1, if any, from the roll used for the attack.) Parry applies only to dice rolled for an attack, not to dice rolls for abilities like Retaliate.

Pilot

[sub-type] Pilot: A layered, static ability written as "[sub-type] Pilot. The [sub-type] gets:… ." that means, "You may move this card onto or off of a non-Droid Space or Ground unit of the correct sub-type once during the build step. Ignore all other text on this card except its name, sub-type and health. The piloted unit can't have more than one Pilot." Treat all of a unit's Pilot abilities for a sub-type as a single Pilot ability for that sub-type. It grants abilities to that unit alone. See the "Pilots" section of the rules PDF for more info.

Reserves

Reserves: [Ability]: A layered, static ability that means, "The following ability works while, and only while, it's in the build zone." The granted ability remains to be the ability of its type. (For example, activated abilities granted by Reserves may be disrupted.)

Stealth

Stealth: An isolated, static ability that means, "This unit can't be attacked unless it's tapped or has damage counters on it." An untapped and undamaged unit with Stealth can still be affected by alternative types of damage. (Such as Overkill.) As long as the unit has any number of damage counters on it, it can't use Stealth.

Switch

Switch: [1st/2nd/3rd type effect]: A layered, static ability that means, "As long as this unit is in the first arena listed on its type line, it gets the effects listed to the left of the first slash. As long as this unit is in the second arena listed on its type line, it gets the effects listed to the right of the first slash. As long as this unit is in the third arena listed on its type line, if any, it gets the effects listed to the right of the second slash, if any." If it says "None" as one of the arena type's effect, it means that it gets no extra effects while in that arena. The unit's Switch effects will correspond to the types listed on the unit's type line. There won't be a slash for an arena not listed in the unit's type. Switch doesn't allow units to change arenas during the battle phase.